Here are your 2016/17 WAM Song Of The Year Nominees

Here are your 2016/17 WAM Song Of The Year Nominees

Plus find out when the awards soiree will be taking place.

In WAM's long and rich Song Of The Year history, the Western Australian Music champions have exposed the songwriting talents of such luminous local acts as Methyl Ethel, Tired Lion, KUČKA, Mathas, Timothy Nelson, Beni Bjah and many more in recent year, and today sees the next round of nominees to join that long and illustrious list. Vying for a share in over $40K worth of prizes over 16 categories, it's another prime example of the burgeoning talent this state has to offer - be they new or established artists.

You can check out the full list below, and mark Wednesday 17 May in your diary for the WAM Song Of The Year Awards Party, once again taking place at the WA Martime Museum and hosted by MC Magnus Danger Magnus, along with music courtesy of DJ Charlie Bucket, The Money War, Ben Matthews Presents LIVEWYRE and Fremantle local Dan Howls. Check more info/tickets HERE, and that full round up of SOTY Nominees, below:

BLUES/ROOTS Sponsored by Clancy’s Fish Pub Fremantle / Studio sponsor Shanghai Twang Studios

Carus Thompson - Beach Fires

Dan Howls - The Prince

Jordan McRobbie - Candle

Mark Turner - Yes I Do

Michael Ellis - Time For Change

COUNTRY Sponsored by Country Music Club of Boyup Brook WA / Studio sponsor Fremantle Recording Studios

Belle Harvey - Bridges Burn

Bill Lawrie - Dalwallinu Hotel

Helen Townsend & Bill Chambers - Promised Land

Ralway Bell - Caught In The Crossfire

The Jackson Roses - Can't Find You

ELECTRONIC Sponsored by City of Fremantle / Studio sponsor Tone City Recording Studio

Lilt - Ghosts

Out Of The Blue - Vice

Shyguy - Had It I’m Hiding

Lilt - Wait No More

Tobacco Rat - Infra

EXPERIMENTAL Sponsored by Firestarter Distribution / Studio sponsor Blackbird Studio

Gravy Murphy - The World Is Your Moisture

The Intenso Band - As Steadfast As The Ether Itself

Jameson Feakes - A Window In Sicily

Samarobryn - The Road Is My River

The Intenso Band - A Small Margin of Terror

FOLK Sponsored by Nannup Music Festival / Studio sponsor Artisan Music

Bill Lawrie - Always Be The Bad Girl In This Town

Nicky Sandover - Orange Tree

Riley Pearce - Circles

Riley Pearce - Seasick

These Winter Nights - Heart's On Fire

HEAVY/METAL Sponsored by Spotify / Studio sponsor Sumo Sound

Kimura - Book Of The Dead

Nucleust - Of King & Tree

Shimmergloom - Smithereens

St James Sirens - Empires Fall

The Decline - Can't Have Both

JAZZ Sponsored by The Ellington Jazz Club / Studio sponsor Crank Recording

Ben Matthews - Esperanzish

Daniel Susnjar Afro-Peruvian Jazz Group - Where Would I Be Without You

Harry Mitchell - Gabba The Hut

Harry Mitchell - Ignacio

Kate Pass Kohesia Ensemble - Point Of Departure

OUTSTANDING INDIGENOUS Sponsored by Noongar Radio I / Studio sponsor Foxhole Studios

The Brownley Gospel Singers - The Man Of Calvary

Desert Stars - Ngurra Nyangatja (Our Home)

The Struggling Kings - Ardyaloon (Guligool)

The Struggling - Kings Oceans

Platform 2 - Faultline

OUTSTANDING REGIONAL Sponsored by APRA AMCOS / Studio sponsor Sonic Lolly

Codee-Lee - Heart Is A Compass

Valentine - Can't Shake You

Kado Muir & LYC Crew feat. KJ - I Choose To Be Free (The Mamu Tjiitjii Song)

Julie Kember - Gypsy Woman

Like A Thief - Take Me Back

POP Sponsored by Cool Perth Nights/Mojos / Studio sponsor Debaser Studio

Lucy Peach - Silver Tongue

Morgan Bain - Summed It Up

Riley Pearce - Outside The Lines

Sydnee Carter - When We Were Young

The Brow - Circles

PUNK/HARDCORE Sponsored by Perfect Pitch Publishing / Studio sponsor Templeman Audio

Blindspot - Thin Ice

Rag N' Bone - Pissy Flow

Scalphunter - Men With Square Eyes

Scalphunter - A Lie They Call The Truth

The Decline - Can't Have Both

ROCK Sponsored by Badlands Bar / Studio sponsor Poons Head Studios

High Horse - Carbon Copy

Mt. Mountain - Moon Desire

Our Man In Berlin - A Lightbulb Mind

Rag N' Bone - Pissy Flow

The Money War - Recall

SCHOOLS 14 & UNDER Sponsored by RØDE I Studio sponsor Vision Studios

Farraday's Cage - Meaning Of Life

Hachi - f i r e e s c a p e

Idgie - All Those Lies Fall In

Lily Kate - Empty Road

Toby Jonah - Cinnamon

SCHOOLS 15 - 17 Sponsored by Diskbank / Studio sponsor Underground Studios

Belgrade - Me

Burdiya Mob - Djarliny

Charlotte Viney - Young & Reckless

Megan Grace - I Wanna Go Back

Siobhan Cotchin - All Night All Right

URBAN/HIP HOP Sponsored by Audiofly / Studio sponsor Shake Down Studio

Bluntfield - The Soap Box

Chiseko - Juice

Macshane - Meant To Do

Morgan Bain - Summed It Up

The Brow - Circles

WORLD Sponsored by Fairbridge Festival / Studio sponsor Rada Studios

56 Hope Road - Justice

Barefeet Sojourns - Run Run

Brassika - Roll Your Eyes

Jere Sosa - Taste Of Honey

Kate Pass Kohesia Ensemble - Point Of Departure


Pilerats top picks for Listen Out/In 2022 + WIN tix for you and your mates!

Our guide to the must-sees on this year's HUGE lineup, and how you can get some free passes for you and the group.

2 years ago

WAMAwards 2019: Your guide to this year's Public Voting nominations (and how to vote)

Plus, find the full list of nominees for WA's biggest music award ceremony.

5 years ago

Polographia Team Up With St. O'Donnell to Raise Funds for Refugees

St. O'Donnell are throwing a party at Hudson Ballroom for RACS.

7 years ago