New Music: Lapalux - Closure + Album Announce

New Music: Lapalux - Closure + Album Announce

Lapalux's second album, Lustmore is coming. Hear a new track.

Back in 2013, when Flying Lotus' experimental beats-driven imprint Brainfeeder first put out producer Stuart Howard, Lapalux’s first proper album of dreamy electronica, Nostalchic, Lapalux was the label's only signing. Now in 2015, Flying Lotus has added 29 acts to the roster, including Jeremiah Jae, Samiyam, Teebs, Tokimonsta, Mono/Poly and more. Lapalux might have been neglected for a minute with all these new talented babies joining Flying Lotus' family (not to mention Flying Lotus being busy making awesome music of his own), but the attention's back on Lapalux today, with the announce of his sophomore album, Lustmore, due out in the states on April 7. A pretty apt title, seeing as though this guy knows how to make some seriously seductive tunes (and also, could the 'more' be a reference to it being his 'sophomore'?).

According to a statement released by Lapalux, Lustmore will thematically focus on “hypnogogia, a kind of limbo of consciousness between being awake and asleep,” and is also heavily influenced by film soundtracks. “Whenever I think about the album I think about the bar scene in The Shining,” he adds. “There’s something about that strange, hallucinatory psychological madness that relates to the music, both in the making of the actual record and the way it sounds.”

Alongside the announcement comes the full tracklist (see below), and a lead single, Closure, which sees Lapalux bring on board the commanding vocals of London vocalist Szjerdene (pronounced Jer-dene), for a track with strong emotional pull that will appeal to fans of his collaboration with vocalist Kerry Leatham on Nostalchic’s heartbreakingly tender track Without You.

Closure is a wonderful, slow-building, soulful number that winds and melts in different directions, led by Szjerdene’s vocals. Szjerdene is not stranger to the scene - currently writing her second EP for NinjaTune, has already had some pretty high profile collabs with Slugabed (Wake Up) and Bonobo (Towers), the latter whom she joined on his The North Borders US tour as a support and onstage at 2014 Coachella.

Fellow NinjaTune labelmate and London vocalist, Andreya Triana, also joins Howard on the album. You might recall Triana as the singer on Flying Lotus' 2010 track Tea Leaf Dancers. Pre-order Lustmore via iTunes here. Tracklist and Closure stream below:

Lustmore Tracklist:

1. U Never Know (feat. Andreya Triana)
2. Sum Body
3. Closure (feat. Szjerdene)
4. Midnight Peelers
5. Push N' Spun
6. We Lost
7. Autumn (Tape Interlude)
8. Puzzle (feat. Andreya Triana)
9. Bud
10. Don't Mean A Thing
11. 1004
12. Make Money
13. Funny Games

New Music: Björk - Vulnicura LP

Björk has surprise dropped her new album today, two months earlier than planned.

9 years ago

Flowermouth - Vision Studio Sessions

Our brothers in Flowermouth are the latest band to take part in Vic Parks own Vision Recording & Rehearsals studio sessions.

10 years ago


New Music: Flamingo - Lost On You + Tour

Flamingo have dropped a cracking single and are heading out on tour with JOY to celebrate.

9 years ago

Interview: Baro

Matt Farsalas chats to one of Aussie hip hop's brightest young things.

10 years ago