Here's your ultimate guide to Splendour 2018's sideshow season

Here's your ultimate guide to Splendour 2018's sideshow season

May as well empty your wallets now.

UPDATE: The Strokes' guitarist Albert Hammond Jr will be doing a pair of shows in July - full deets below.

UPDATE: Now including newly announced sideshows for Kasbo, Ben Howard and Lil Xan.

After announcing their Australian-heavy line-up two weeks back, we knew Splendour In The Grass '18 was going to sell out in record time. Then last week, in less than 15 minutes, it happened. If you were one of those poor suckers with a wallet already too drained to make the Byron Bay trek in 2018 (or one of those that got stuck in that pesky Moshtix green room for what felt like hours), then you'll probably be overjoyed to hear that the first round of Splendour '18 sideshows have arrived and they're stacked.

There's an absolute huge Franz Ferdinand and MGMT double-headliner that'll no doubt take you back the mid-00s, plus huge shows by top-tier Splendour acts like The Wombats, CHVRCHES, James Bay and Chromeo. There's also a bunch of sideshows for the more 'up and coming' acts, like Riton & Kah-Lo, Towkio, Yungblud and Lord Huron - plus a bunch of others.

As it stands, all sideshows announced thus far are east-coast-based (basically just Melbourne and Sydney so far), so don't be surprised to see a couple more Australia-wide sideshows announced over the next few weeks (i.e. let's just cross all our fingers and toes for that mammoth Kendrick Lamar tour that's well over-due). Check out the full list of announced sideshows below, which will be updated as more are announced:

Franz Ferdinand & MGMT

Tickets on sale Friday, 27th April

Tue, 24th July - Festival Hall, Melbourne (All Ages – Franz Ferdinand To Close)
Wed, 25th July - Hordern Pavilion, Sydney (All Ages – MGMT To Close)

Chvrches

Tickets on sale Thursday, April 26.

Sun July 22 — Hordern Pavilion, Sydney
Mon July 23 — Margaret Court Arena, Melbourne

The Wombats (with Elderbrook)

Tickets on sale Friday, April 27.

Thu July 19 — Festival Hall, Melbourne
Tue July 24 — Hordern Pavilion, Sydney

James Bay

Tickets on sale Friday, April 27.

Tue July 24 — Hamer Hall, Melbourne
Wed July 25 — State Theatre, Sydney

Chromeo

Tickets on sale Friday, April 27.

Sat July 21 — Max Watts, Melbourne
Sun July 22 — Metro Theatre, Sydney

Superorganism (with G Flip)

Tickets on sale Thursday, April 26.

Sun July 22 — 170 Russell, Melbourne
Tue July 24 — Metro Theatre, Sydney

Bully

Tickets on sale Tuesday, April 24.

Wed July — The Tote, Melbourne
Thu July 19 — The Lansdowne, Sydney

Riton & Kah-Lo

Tickets on sale Friday, April 27.

Fri July 20 — Oxford Art Factory, Sydney
Sat July 21 — Prince Bandroom, Melbourne

Towkio

Tickets on sale Friday, April 27.

Thu July 19 — Howler, Melbourne
Fri July 20 — Oxford Art Factory, Sydney

Lewis Capaldi

Tickets on sale Friday, April 27.

Tue July 24 — Howler Melbourne
Wed July 25 — Oxford Art Factory, Sydney

Marmozets

Tickets on sale Friday, April 27.

Wed July 18 — The Lansdowne, Sydney
Thu July 19 — The Evelyn, Melbourne

Yungblud

Tickets on sale Friday, April 27.

Sat July 21 — Corner Hotel, Melbourne
Tue July 24 — Oxford Art Factory, Sydney

Lord Huron

Tickets on sale now.

Sun July 15 — The Factory Theatre, Sydney
Wed July 18 — Melbourne Recital Centre, Melbourne

Ben Howard

Tickets on sale now.

Tue 24 July — Palais Theatre, Melbourne
Wed 25 July — Palais Theatre, Melbourne
Thu 26 July — Sydney Opera House, Sydney
Fri 27 July — Sydney Opera House, Sydney

Kasbo

Tickets on sale now.

Fri 20 July — Northcote Social Club, Melbourne
Sat 21 July — Oxford Art Factory, Sydney

Lil Xan

Tickets on sale now.

Fri 20 July — Festival Hall, Melbourne
Sun 22 July — Enmore Theatre, Sydney

Albert Hammond Jr. 

Tickets on sale June 1st.

Tue 24 July – Factory Theatre, Sydney
Wed 25 July – Corner Hotel, Melbourne

Head to Secret Sounds for more information and ticket links.

Come hang with us at the UWA Tav tomorrow for ODAY

We're throwing on some chilled some acoustic acts while you have a tipple instead of making decisions RE: this semester.

2 years ago

Watch 'Pretty Fly (For A White Guy)' performed by a whopping 230 movies

The Offspring as sung by Lord of the Rings, The Joker, Timon, Pumba and more...

2 years ago

Close
-->