The Avalanches announce their new record is out Dec 11, with guests on guests on guests

The Avalanches announce their new record is out Dec 11, with guests on guests on guests

The tracklisting reads like a festival lineup to end all festival lineups, including MGMT, Jamie xx, Denzel Curry and more.

We've known for a while now that The Avalanches' forthcoming record would be a step beyond the collaborative nature of their long-overdue returning album Wildflower a few years back, which comparative to Since I Left You's relatively solo efforts, brought on a string of guest collaborators hidden within its 21-strong tracklist: Danny Brown, Warren Ellis, Kevin Parker and so on.  It's been a long time coming too, with the duo known for their collaborative efforts whether it be in a sampling context or, in the space of the last year or so especially, as a remixer and guest songwriter tinkering behind-the-scenes.

It's something really coming to fruition over the course of 2020 especially, with The Avalanches commencing their journey to album number three with its eventual title-track We Will Always Love You, which enlisted Blood Orange. Then, came the stand-out Running Red Lights featuring Weezer's Rivers Cuomo and hype rapper Pink Siifu, followed by the stacked Wherever You Go featuring Jamie xx, Neneh Cherry and CLYPSO; Reflecting Light sampling Sananda Maitreya and Vashti Bunyan, and Take Care In Your Dreaming, which featured Denzel Curry and Sampa The Great alongside Massive Attack's Tricky.

Now, comes the full tracklisting and a touch more information for We Will Always Love You's release, and bloody hell, what an occasion it's turning out to be. First of all, the record is scheduled for release on December 11th and available for pre-order now, with further details hinting that the record carries a more evolutionary, collaborative approach that steps aside from the more sampling-focused nature of what we've already heard from The Avalanches prior to this record. 

Then, with the album's tracklisting, you really know they're not lying. The album features what feels like a festival lineup's worth of acts; the group packing together their own little Splendour In The Grass moment amongst 25 tracks (!) that, in all but nine songs, feature credited guest collaborators (but there may be further sampling and uncredited musicians included within those too). 

There's Orono from Superorganism, MGMT and The Smiths' Johnny Marr on the same track, Leon Bridges, Jane's Addiction frontman/Lollapalooza founder Perry Farrell, Cola Boyy and Mick Jones, further collaborations with Tricky and Pink Siifu, Kurt Vile, The Yeah Yeah Yeah's Karen O, Cornelius and Kelly Moran, as well as all those on songs already out there: Denzel Curry, Sampa The Great, Jamie xx, Neneh Cherry, CLYPSO, Rivers Cuomo, Blood Orange and so on.

It's going to a monumental time, so take a dive into the album's latest choice cut featuring Leon Bridges below, and find the full tracklisting underneath that - and again, it's available for pre-order now.

The Avalanches - We Will Always Love You Tracklisting, out December 11th:

1. Ghost Story (feat. Orono)

2. Song For Barbara Payton

3. We Will Always Love You (feat. Blood Orange)

4. The Divine Chord (feat. MGMT & Johnny Marr)

5. Solitary Ceremonies

6. Interstellar Love (feat. Leon Bridges)

7. Ghost Story Pt 2 (feat. Leon Bridges & Orono)

8. Reflecting Light (feat. Sananda Maitreya & Vashti Bunyan)

9. Carrier Waves

10. Oh The Sunn! (feat. Perry Farrell)

11. We Go On (feat. Cola Boyy & Mick Jones)

12. Star Song.IMG

13. Until Daylight Comes (feat. Tricky)

14. Wherever You Go (feat. Jamie xx, Neneh Cherry & CLYPSO)

15. Music Makes Me High

16. Pink Champagne

17. Take Care In Your Dreaming (feat. Denzel Curry, Tricky & Sampa The Great)

18. Overcome

19. Gold Sky (feat. Kurt Vile)

20. Always Black (feat. Pink Siifu)

21. Dial D For Devotion (feat. Karen O)

22. Running Red Lights (feat. Rivers Cuomo & Pink Siifu)

23. Born To Lose

24. Music Is The Light (feat. Cornelius & Kelly Moran)

25. Weightless

Follow The Avalanches: FACEBOOK

Premiere: May Lyn makes a return with new single, Froot Loop

The Brisbane-via-Malaysian musician strives with her first piece of work for the year.

5 years ago

James Blake unveils a tender moment of beauty, Don't Miss It

It's the second major single Blake has released this year, following on from If The Car Besides You Moves Ahead.

6 years ago

Listen: Acaddamy – I’ve Been Waiting

House bangers for your long weekend.

9 years ago

Track By Track: Miami Horror take us through the art/concepts of brill new EP, The Shapes

The fantastic five-tracker is an excellent return for the indie-disco masters.

7 years ago