Thandi Phoenix conjures up some d'n'b with her latest offering, Standing Too Close

Thandi Phoenix conjures up some d'n'b with her latest offering, Standing Too Close

The Sydney songstress drops a track with big energy to announce herself in 2017.

Since stepping out in the public eye, Thandi Phoenix has had a rich vein of form. In the past, she’s appeared as a special guest for the likes of Tinashe, Rudimental and Tinie Tempah, as well as topping the Spotify viral chart with her single from last year, Tell Me Where All The Lovers Have Gone. Fast-forward to the present day and Thandi certainly isn’t slowing down, this week releasing her first original of the year, Standing Too Close. And as if that isn’t enough, she’s about to set off on a National Tour with Vera Blue!

Standing Too Close is a diverse tune with an opening section that champions her commanding vocal talent. Unexpectedly (or perhaps expectedly given the Rudimental tour supports), the track transitions into an interesting concoction of drum'n'bass and garage, lifting the track into the space of a dance-ready anthem. The flavours and tones of Phoenix’s voice suggest foreign heritage and in actual fact it’s that of South African – an influence that she has actually bred into this very release.

Get involved with Thandi’s latest below and suss her upcoming tour dates with Vera Blue further on down:

TOUR DATES w/ Vera Blue:

Friday 28 July - The Academy, Canberra (SOLD OUT)

Saturday 29 July - Metro Theatre, Sydney (SOLD OUT)

Friday 4 August - The Gov, Adelaide

Saturday 5 August - Metropolis, Fremantle

Tuesday 8 August - Tap House, Bendigo (SOLD OUT)

Wednesday 9 August - Grand Hotel, Mornington

Friday 11 August - 170 Russell, Melbourne (SOLD OUT)

Saturday 12 August - The Wool Exchange, Geelong

Friday 25 August - The Triffid, Brisbane (SOLD OUT)

Saturday 26 August - The Mills Precinct, Toowoomba

Sunday 27 August - Miami Marketta, Gold Coast (SOLD OUT)

Thursday 31 August - Wollongong Uni Bar, Wollongong

Friday 1 September - The Beery, Terrigal

Saturday 2 September - Metro Theatre, Sydney (ALL AGES)

Friday 8 September - Bar on the Hill, Newcastle

Saturday 9 September - Odeon Theatre, Hobart

Sunday 10 September - 170 Russell, Melbourne

Follow Thandi Phoenix: FACEBOOK

Listen: Duke Dumont - Ocean Drive

The Duke grants us Ocean Drive, the first from his upcoming and openly blasé EP.

2 years ago

Listen: Woodes & Elkkle - Cocoon

A delicate, percussive new track from Woodes x Elkkle.

2 years ago

Sable Says: Floss-terview

Sable chats to the trap bosses ahead of their upcoming Australian tour.

2 years ago

Electric Feels: Your Weekly Electronic Music Recap

The best of the electronic world in the past week, including Golden Vessel, Little Dragon, Tennyson and more.

20 days ago

Close
-->