Album Premiere: The Tambourine Girls - Different Streets

Album Premiere: The Tambourine Girls - Different Streets

Take an advance listen to the Sydney indie rockers' third album of jangly catchiness and poignant pop

Image credit: Mike Terry (@miguelito_terry)

Five years on from their sophomore album Waiting For Pleasure, Sydney’s The Tambourine Girls are back with their gorgeous third full-length, with Different Streets out March 9 but premiering on Pilerats today!

Showcasing their range & development as songwriters and musicians, Different Streets sees the group infuse elements of alt-country and stripped back ballads among their unique brand of jangly, power-pop and indie rock across the albums 11 tracks.

Different Streets is not only a return for the band, but marks the start of a new chapter for The Tambourine Girls, following the loss of the late Nick Weaver - the band’s guitarist who passed away in 2021 and whose influence remains on the band’s new album.

On Different Streets, the band say “This album has ended up representing both our finest achievements as a band and our greatest heartbreak. With our worlds turned upside down, the album froze for over a year while we grieved our best friend and tried to comprehend whether we could go on playing music without him, and what that would look like. With the help of our extremely talented and caring friends (Simon Berckelman, Antonia Gauci, Chloe Dadd, Tony Buchen and Nick Franklin), we were able to finish the record and create a body of work that was simultaneously the best music we ever made with Nick, as well as a tribute to him.”

Different Streets is premiering in full on Pilerats today - take a sneaky first listen before it drops this Thursday, March 9!

The Tambourine Girls new album Different Streets is out March 9

Tambourine Girls Different Streets


Saturday 15 April Factory Floor Marrickville NSW

Album Launch, Supported by The Melodrones

Saturday May 13 The Big Chill Festival Armidale NSW

Follow The Tambourine Girls: Instagram / Facebook

Listen: Pei - Themesong

The solo project of Joji Malani announces a forthcoming album with the release of this triumphant multi-layered track.

2 years ago

Digging In: RINSE - 'Kiss Me (Kill Me)' feat. Hatchie

After releasing one of the dreamiest shoegaze singles and touching, heartwarming music videos of the year, RINSE digs into their new one

3 months ago

Listen: King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard - Trapdoor

Australia’s favourite musical chameleons release a second song from their forthcoming album.

9 years ago

Touché Amoré frontman Jeremy gives us his 'Best Songs Of 2016 So Far' playlist

To celebrate the release of TA's stellar new record, Stage Four.

8 years ago