Local faves give us an upper-tempo ode to a southern Perth suburb, announce deluxe edition of acclaimed album 9

It’s been a good couple of weeks for the Spinning Top crew and music fans alike, first with the Tame Impala news, now today we get some new POND!

Lights of Leeming is a relentless race through post-punk meets new-wave as squelchy synths meet big beats and an addictive warbly bassline underpins it all, with Nicholas Allbrook's vocals sitting perfectly atop the mix. The track and announcement comes ahead of their Australian and European tour (all dates below).

Of the track, Allbrook says “Lights of Leeming is a true story about the crushing boredom of suburbia and the wild and destructive things people do to break the monotony, to see that there's at least something you can do to affect your surroundings - to be seen and validated as a real, existent part of the world - even if it's just breaking something or getting in trouble. It's pretty dumb fun, but dumb fun is important, right?’ Right, indeed.

POND - TOUR DATES

AUSTRALIA - APRIL 2022

Thursday 7 April | The Triffid, Brisbane QLD*
Friday 8 April | The Metro Theatre, Sydney NSW*
Saturday 9 April | The Croxton, Melbourne VIC*
Sunday 10 April | The Espy, St. Kilda, VIC*  - NEW SHOW
Friday 15 April | Boogie Festival, Tallarook VIC
*Headline show


UK + EUROPE - MAY + JUNE 2022

Tuesday 31 May | Sala Moon, Valencia ES
Thursday 2 June | Primavera Sound Festival, Barcelona ES -  SOLD OUT
Saturday 4 June | Levitation France, Angers FR
Sunday 5 June | Rock School Barbey, Bordeaux, FR
Tuesday 7 June | Capitol, Santiago de Compostela ES
Saturday 11 June | Primavera Sound Festival, Barcelona ES - SOLD OUT
Tuesday 14 June| SWG3 TV Studio, Glasgow UK
Wednesday 15 June | Brudenell Social Club, Leeds UK 
Friday 17 June | Electric Ballroom, London UK
Saturday 18 June | Manchester Academy 2, Manchester, UK

POND's new album 9 DLX Edition is out May 20 via Spinning Top

Follow Pond: Facebook / Instagram

Watch: The Pinheads - I Wanna Be A Girl [Premiere]

The first single from The Pinheads' debut EP is a swampy rock'n'roll acid trip.

7 years ago

Premiere: QLD punk-rockers Pandamic crash into 2021 with their new single, Bus

It's the first single in two years from the Central Queensland trio, who are signed to Dune Rats' Ratbag Records.

1 year ago

Premiere: Old Sault debuts new single Melbourne, announces debut album

The Gold Coast musician's debut record, HIGHER HARM, will arrive later this year.

3 years ago

Premiere: Listen to Exit Universe, the meditative new single from Yossarian

It's taken from the London/Argentina/Melbourne trio's new album, All These Fictions.

4 years ago

Close
-->