The National are back, sharing a new track and announcing a new album

The National are back, sharing a new track and announcing a new album

Sleep Well Beast is coming this September 8.

Hold steady, because we are about to hit you with the motherload of news (yes, this includes a new track!) surrounding the much anticipated return of one the biggest indie rock bands in the world, The National. Where do we start, we do we go?, Well it would be a damn shame if didn’t touch on their 2013 record, Trouble Will Find Me. Of all the bodies of work the now Brooklyn based crew have put out, it was their sixth in 2013 that helped establish their name as one of the biggest in the genre of indie rock. Sure, through songs like Terrible Love, Sorrow and Bloodbuzz Ohio, 2010’s High Violet was great, but as far as top to bottom, front to back records go, Trouble Will Find Me is a modern day classic. From its opener in I Should Live In Salt to fan favourite Slipped to the record's closer in Hard To Find, you’d be hard pressed to find a single person that doesn’t at the very least respect the brilliance that is this indie masterpiece.

Ok, enough reminiscently indulging though, through billboards on freeways and cryptic messaging, The National are officially back after four long years. Returning with a new song called The System Only Dreams in Total Darkness, this is the first cut from their new record Sleep Well Beast (which is due for release on September 8th).

Speaking to Pitchfork about Sleep Well Beast, band member Aaron Dessner said of the album’s first single that “That song’s wordy title (The System Only Dreams in Total Darkness) even seems to reflect a loosened grip”. It’s true, and to translate Dessner’s thoughts the album’s first single openly reflects that. Still very much channeling the nostalgic sounds that helped us all fall in love with The National, The System Only Dreams in Total Darkness feels like what ever previous hinges were in place have since been removed as the song delivers on some new experimentation. From the jaggedy guitar to the drum loops, we even get one hell of guitar solo, The System Only Dreams in Total Darkness is a welcomed return.

As stated above, The National’s new album album is due for release later this year on September 8th. Recorded across various locations such as New York, Paris, L.A and Berlin, this will be the band’s seventh studio album (full tracklist + album artwork can be seen below). Accompanying the news of a forthcoming album and their new single, the band also announced they are indeed heading back on the road for a full world tour. Now, as you sit a read this, the only dates for 2017 that have been announced are across the U.S and UK/Europe, but...

Is it too early to through a name up for Splendour In The Grass 2018?! Eh, however they wish to play it, if we know The National, they won’t be skipping out on us here down under, so you best rest assured and sit tight for a while.

Sleep Well Beast Tracklist:

1. Nobody Else Will Be There
2. Day I Die
3. Walk It Back
4. The System Only Dreams in Total Darkness
5. Born to Beg
6. Turtleneck
7. Empire Line
8. I’ll Still Destroy You
9. Guilty Party
10. Carin at the Liquor Store
11. Dark Side of the Gym
12. Sleep Well Beast

the national sleep well beast packshot

Follow The National: FACEBOOK

Premiere: It's time you met Hannah Kate, and their fuzzy new slice of garage-pop, Cry July

They're launching it with a big show at The Tote upstairs on September 27.

5 years ago

Listen: Destroyer - Eat the Wine, Drink the Bread

Acclaimed indie-rock veteran returns with a new cut of house-influenced goodness ahead of thirteenth studio album

2 years ago

Kim Churchill picks out his favourite Australian acts

The popular Australian songwriter's new album Weight_Falls is out today, and comes with a national tour kicking off next month.

7 years ago

Premiere: Lisa Crawley gets very Lynchian in the new video clip for You Got Me

Starring What We Do In The Shadows alumni, Jonny Brugh.

6 years ago