Cosmo's Midnight announce debut album with new single, Polarised

Cosmo's Midnight announce debut album with new single, Polarised

The Sydney production twins will release their long-awaited debut, What Comes Next, in June.

Header photo by Alex Johnstone.

Since returning with a more funk-fused sound on 2017's History, Cosmo's Midnight have put out nothing but gold. The Sydney production twins, who at this stage need little introduction in Australia, have been on a run with a flush of fantastic singles, from History and Mind Off through to the bouncy Winston Surfshirt collaboration Get To Know earlier this year. In 2018, Cosmo's Midnight have their eyes set on an entirely new frontier, tackling the album game with their debut release What Comes Next announced to arrive on June 15 via Sony/RCA Records. Including collaborations with Australian up-and-comers and international heavyweights alike, What Comes Next aims to push Cosmo's Midnight into a completely new realm both in Australia and internationally, raising them up alongside other Australian exports like What So Not in album-churning electronic powerhouses.

The album announcement comes with a new single titled Polarised, a single that sees Cosmo's Midnight continue to strive with its laid-back, funk-pop sound that has seen the duo become almost unavoidable over the summer. It also marks a big moment for Pat, one half of Cosmo's, whose vocals are front-and-centre for the first time. "Polarised is the first time I've ever sung on a track," he says on the single. "We were just riffing on keys and bass and I had a melody running through my head - instead of running it through a synth or something I plugged in my shitty mic and sang the first thing that came to mind. Everything just clicked from there and we went back and finessed it till it was done. I think this song really does capture the feeling of when we wrote it."

Listen to the track below, and dive into What Comes Next's collaboration-heavy tracklist before that. Pre-order the album HERE. Check out Cosmo's Midnight around the nation at this year's Groovin' The Moo Festival – deets and tickets HERE.

What Comes Next Tracklisting:

1. Confidence (feat. Woodes)
2. Lowkey (feat. Buddy & Jay Prince)
3. Montego
4. With U (feat. Panama)
5. Talk To Me (feat. Tove Styrke)
6. Get To Know (feat. Winston Surfshirt)
7. Where You Been (feat. Boogie)
8. What Comes Next (Interlude)
9. Polarised
10. History
11. Dreamer (feat. PAULi)
12. Lovelight

Follow Cosmo's Midnight: FACEBOOK

The Fatboy Slim vs Australia remix EP is full of absolute heaters

Featuring bangers from Set Mo, The Kite String Tangle, LO'99 and...Shane Warne?

3 years ago

Photo Diary: Hit the road with Crooked Colours on their recent trip to the US/Canada

The trio is currently celebrating the release of a killer new single, Do It Like You.

2 years ago

Get amped for George Maple's upcoming tour with the remix package for Sticks And Horses

Includes big remixes from Deetron, Daktyl and George Maple herself.

5 years ago

Related articles