Disclosure hit peak after peak with new single, Douha (Mali Mali)

Disclosure hit peak after peak with new single, Douha (Mali Mali)

The single, which features past collaborator Fatoumata Diawara, is the third taste of their new album, out August 28th.

If all things come together, Disclosure's third album - ENERGY, out August 28th - may see them outshine their infamous, all-time debut record Settle. Across the last few months, we've been treated to song after song from the UK brothers that every time, have seen them step up and take new ground, enlisting collaborators both old and new for a record whose tracklisting reads like a festival lineup: slowthai, Aminé, Kelis, Channel Tres, Kehlani, Syd, Common, Mick Jenkins and the list goes on.

The album's first taste ENERGY reunited them with hip-hop preacher Eric Thomas for a full-circle moment, collaborating with the duo after his voice was sampled for When A Fire Starts To Burn. Then, came My High - one of the funnest, most joyful singles of the year - which saw them come together with UK hip-hop king slowthai and Australian favourite Aminé. Together, they're two songs which showcase Disclosure's differing sides, and how they're capable of taking that distinct Disclosure charm - something that's been front and centre since the Settle days - and move it forward into 2020.

Now, comes another past collaborator. Today, Disclosure share Douha (Mali Mali), a driving five minutes of chanting house that pairs them back up with Mali's Fatoumata Diawara, who also featured on one of Caracal's lead singles in Ultimatum. This time around, things feel a little more slick and refined. Douha is enchanting in every way, capturing Diawara at her most exuberant and powerful as she sings in celebration of her birthplace above a driving rush of percussion that at times, pulls back for twinkling moments that are amongst Disclosure's most magical.

The single also arrives with a video clip directed by Mahaneela, which really attempts to forge this sense of community between the world in a time where it's needed most. "Right now, all over the world, we're going through an incredibly strange time. I wanted to make something that was visually beautiful, but also felt symbolic of what we’re all going through," says the director. "People feel more isolated than ever and I wanted to create something joyful that really shows the power music and movement has and the connectivity it brings."

It's a brilliant track that really continues to set the tone for ENERGY being a bright-lit, fun record that captures everything we've come to love from Disclosure in a more potent way than what we've found over the last five years or so, reminding the world that the UK brothers are electronic elite who will always come bouncing back, armed with some of the year's best electronica.

Take a dive into the single and its video below, and then find the full tracklisting for ENERGY underneath, which with its arrival come August 28th, is sure to further Disclosure into the upper echelon of electronic music's history.

Disclosure - ENERGY LP Tracklisting: 

01 Watch Your Step [ft. Kelis]
02 Lavender [ft. Channel Tres]
03 My High [ft. Aminé and slowthai]
04 Who Knew? [ft. Mick Jenkins]
05 Douha (Mali Mali) [ft. Fatoumata Diawara]
06 Fractal (Interlude)
07 Ce N’est Pas [ft. Blik Bassy]
09 Thinking ’Bout You (Interlude)
10 Birthday [ft. Kehlani and Syd]
11 Reverie [ft. Common]

Follow Disclosure: FACEBOOK

Broods branch out, launch new solo projects Fizzy Milk and The Venus Project

Both side projects launch today, with Fizzy Milk's Make Me Feel and The Venus Project's Won't Hurt.

6 years ago

Wafia debuts a more upbeat and confident sound with new single, I'm Good

Following on from her touching VIII EP earlier this year, Wafia's latest showcases a more pop-centric side of the Australian musician.

6 years ago

Premiere: Watch Gordi beautifully cover her single Myriad live at Hordern Pavilion

Watch the New South Wales musician play the Reservoir highlight live while supporting Gang Of Youths earlier in the year.

6 years ago

Boys Noize teams up with POLIÇA for Starchild

The first single from his fourth album Mayday, out May 20.

8 years ago