MGMT Announce Fifth Studio Album With New Single

MGMT Announce Fifth Studio Album With New Single

“Musically speaking, we are running at around 20% adult contemporary and no more than this, please.”

Image credit: Jonah Freeman

After composing a 45-minute piece for the Guggenheim museum last year, indie icons MGMT have announced their first album in five years, Loss of Life, with charming new single Mother Nature.

Big acoustic guitar strums meet sparkling keys and soaring vocals on Mother Nature with the band explaining the song “outlines the archetypical MGMT mythology of one hero attempting to get the other hero to come on the journey that they ‘must’ go on. One part sounds like Oasis.”

Mother Nature comes alongside an awesome animated music video that melds 3D and 2D animation with the real world as two friends Dog and Turtle try to thwart the plans of an evil pet collector. A collaboration with Jordan Fish who has worked with the band since their debut album, Fish says “I hope the story makes people happy and feel connected to family, friends and the animal kingdom as well”. Mission accomplished.

MGMT’s new album Loss of Life is out February 23, 2024 via Mom+Pop Music

unnamed 21

1. Loss Of Life (part 2)
2. Mother Nature
3. Dancing In Babylon (featuring Christine and the Queens)
4. People In The Streets
5. Bubblegum Dog
6. Nothing To Declare
7. Nothing Changes
8. Phradie's Song
9. I Wish I Was Joking  
10. Loss Of Life

Follow MGMT: Instagram / Facebook

Premiere: Meet Butter and their silky-smooth new single, Hocus Pocus

The six-piece jazz-hip-hop band are perfect for fans of BadBadNotGood, King Krule and more.

5 years ago

Jeremy Neale's Favourite Brissy Acts

With a few dates left on his current Aus' tour, Jeremy Neale shares the hometown love.

8 years ago

Premiere: Meet NECTAR, Perth ones-to-watch launching a new single, In The Clear

The hazy, psychedelic-leaning new single comes ahead of a star-studded launch show this weekend.

3 years ago

Premiere: Watch a tense new video for clip for WHARVES' latest single, High School Hero

The group have a huge run of shows coming up, including joining Bad Pony on tour.

6 years ago