Listen: POND - 'Neon River'

Listen: POND - 'Neon River'

Local legends drop a dynamic new single and medieval themed music video ahead of massive world tour

Image credit: Michael Tartaglia

With a massive tour on the cards across Australia & New Zealand, the USA and UK/EU kicking off next month, today psych-rock innovators POND have unveiled their latest creation, the fuzzy riff-filled sounds of Neon River, alongside a playful music video that channels a little bit of Monthy Python and the Holy Grail.

Sounding a bit if Ian Anderson brought some of his mellow passages to a Led Zeppelin jam session (if only…), Neon River alternates from beautiful stripped back acoustic passages to full blown rocking out - and back again. Describing their new single, the band explains “This is a full on Pond Gemini song. Kinda tumbles through bucolic Gum (Jay Watson) larping, into Nick (Allbrook) in maximum Aerosmith spandex mode, with a brief detour into some kind of shoegaze instrumental section. The chorus is about the hollow half dead riverside shuffle of so many pre dawns of years gone by.”

Meanwhile the music video sees Nick Allbrook take the role of a lonely hair metal wanderer who meets the rest of the guys LARPing as a group of medieval dudes. Upon removing the ubiquitous medieval sword in the stone, Allbrook’s glam rock powers are activated leading to high speed chases and slow-mo solo rock outs.

Give Neon River a watch and listen and see below for all POND’s upcoming tour dates!

POND's new single Neon River is out now via Spinning Top Music

Pond Neon River

POND TOUR DATES


AUSTRALIA & NEW ZEALAND 2024
*supporting Queens of the Stone Age


Saturday, 10 February | Red Hill Auditorium - Perth, WA*
Tuesday, 13 February | The Drive - Adelaide, SA*
Friday, 16 February | Mona Lawns - Hobart, TAS*
Sunday, 18 February | Torquay Common - Torquay, VIC*
Monday, 19 February | Sidney Myer Music Bowl - Melbourne, VIC*
Wednesday, 21 February | Hordern Pavilion - Sydney, NSW*
Thursday, 22 February | Hordern Pavilion - Sydney, NSW*
Saturday, 24 February | Broadwater Parklands - Gold Coast, QLD*
Sunday, 25 February | Fortitude Music Hall - Brisbane, QLD*
Monday, 26 February | Fortitude Music Hall - Brisbane, QLD*
Thursday, 29 February | Spark Arena - Auckland, NZ*
Friday, 1 March | TSB Arena - Wellington, NZ*
Sunday, 3 March | Wolfbrook Arena - Christchurch, NZ



USA 2024


Wednesday, 1 May | The Basement East - Nashville, TN
Thursday, 2 May | The Orange Peel - Asheville, NC
Friday, 3 May | Shaky Knees Festival - Atlanta, GA
Tuesday, 7 May | Mohawk - Austin, TX
Wednesday, 8 May | White Oak Music Hall - Houston, TX
Thursday, 9 May | Trees - Dallas, TX
Saturday, 11 May | Ogden Theatre - Denver, CO
Sunday, 12 May | Kilby Court Block Party - Salt Lake City, UT
Wednesday, 15 May | The New Parish - Oakland, CA
Thursday, 16 May | Lodge Room - Los Angeles, CA
Friday, 17 May | The Observatory North Park - San Diego, CA
Saturday, 18 May | The Observatory OC - Santa Ana, CA

UK/EU 2024


Thursday, 26 September | Gorilla - Manchester, UK
Friday, 27 September | The Wardrobe - Leeds, UK
Saturday, 28 September | The Grove - Newcastle, UK
Sunday, 29 September | King Tut’s Wah Wah - Glasgow, UK
Tuesday, 1 October | XOYO Birmingham - Birmingham, UK
Wednesday, 2 October | Thekla - Bristol, UK
Thursday, 3 October | Scala - London, UK
Saturday, 5 October | TBD - Paris, FR
Sunday, 6 October | La Grand Salon, Botanique - Brussels, BE
Monday, 7 October | Paradiso - Amsterdam, NL
Tuesday, 8 October | Bürgerhaus Stollwerck - Cologne, DE
Thursday, 10 October | Hole44 - Berlin, DE
Friday, 11 October | Fabrik - Hamburg, DE

Follow POND: Instagram / Facebook

Listen: Fat Trout Trailer Park - Sleepy Peeps

The alt-rock/ post-punk outfit gear up for their sophomore EP with the release of this explosive commuters anthem.

2 years ago

Premiere: Watch the spectacular video for Grace Turner's newest single, Dead Or Alive

It comes ahead of a bunch of east-coast tour dates for Newcastle rising star, including RAAVE TAPES' Shut Down the Cambridge this weekend.

6 years ago

Watch: Radkey - Glore

Radkey get rad with clay in their brilliant new video for Glore

8 years ago

Premiere: Listen to History, a powerful new single from Melbourne's MAXON

She launches it November 22 with a special performance at the Paris Jazz Club.

5 years ago

Close
-->