The 10 Best Music Videos of the Week | 2024 Week 2

The 10 Best Music Videos of the Week | 2024 Week 2

2024 has kicked off with some great film clips - check out our 10 faves from the last week

Image credit: Still from Future Islands 'Say Goodbye' video

Music videos are artistic extensions of the songs themselves, with many visual accompaniments becoming just as, if not more iconic than the songs they were created for. As usual, some of our favourite songs of the week also had some of our favourite videos, with this week's list including Faye Webster, Future Islands, Gates To Hell, Logic1000, MGMT, Middle Kids, Pissed Janes, serpentwithfeet, Tom Snowdon and Ty Segall!

Faye Webster - Lego Ring feat. Lil Yachty

After two singles last year and ahead of her appearances at Laneway, Faye Webster announced her new album Underdressed At The Symphony with a charming new single and video combo for Lego Ring, featuring the one and only Lil Yachty. A cut that alternates from driving indie rock and mellow choruses, the video sees the pair playing a "Rockband" type video game of their own song, with some awesome and just a tad trippy claymation vibes. If you’re looking for a little time suck, there’s a playable version of the song/game here. Faye Webster's new album Underdressed At The Symphony is out March 1 via Secretly Canadian.

Future Islands - Say Goodbye

Two weeks out from the release of their highly anticipated seventh studio album, Future Islands gave us a disco-influenced cut with four to the floor drums and a groovy bass line leading the way on Say Goodbye, a single that details the demise of a long distance relationship. Say Goodbye features a psychedelic animated video that sees a protagonist explore the depths of the ocean (and possibly time and space). Future Islands’ new album People Who Aren't There Anymore is out January 26 via 4AD / Remote Control.

Gates To Hell - Resurrected

After dropping their self-titled album in 2022, Louisville Hardcore Death Metallers Gates To Hell commemorated signing to legendary heavy label Nuclear Blast with a relentlessly crushing (and equally addictive) new single, Resurrected. Taking inspiration from the song’s title, the video features an awesome b-grade horror movie style music video that sees the protagonist resurrected from the dead and getting his revenge… while Gates To Hell rock the hell out. Resurrected is out now via Nuclear Blast.

Logic1000 - Every Lil feat. MJ Nebreda & DJ Plead

Aussie-born, Berlin-based producer Logic1000 gave us the third single from her upcoming new album, a mellow, laidback downtempo housey cut featuring MJ Nebrada and longtime Melbourne-fave DJ Plead. The nostalgic, hypnotic video features oversaturated palettes and footage of flowers slowly blooming (interspersed with other intriguing footage), processed to look like a wonky VHS playing on an old CRT TV - tasty stuff. Logic1000’s new album Mother is out March 22 via Therapy / Because Music / Virgin Music Australia.

MGMT - Nothing To Declare

Taking us in a contemplative & mellow direction were MGMT this week with the third single from their new record, channeling some Simon & Garfunkel vibes with a signature MGMT twist on Nothing To Declare. The cinematic music video stars Inga Petry, a student at the University of Pittsburgh who was born with upper limb aplasia and uses her growing social media platform to spread awareness for the disabled community. The touching, gorgeously shot video sees Petry fly to and explore Paris, featuring some iconic sights and scenes. MGMT’s new album Loss of Life is out February 23 via Mom+Pop Music.

Middle Kids - Terrible News

Middle Kids bring the heat on the latest single from their next album, with Terrible News packing big, fuzzy guitar hooks, a commanding rhythm section, synth flourishes and lead vocalist Hannah Joy’s powerful vocals that explore times of confusion and insecurity. The compelling video for Terrible News features a newspaper boy protagonist running down an inner-suburban street, with the video shot in one take and then slowed right down to incredible effect. Middle Kids’ new album Faith Crisis Pt 1 is out February 16 via EMI.

Pissed Jeans - Moving On

Iconic Pennsylvanian punks Pissed Jeans announced their sixth studio record with an exuberant & anthemic new single, Moving On. Opening with the song’s lead guitar riff motif, Moving On wastes no time kicking into gear and doesn’t relent, keeping a sense of atmospheric urgency. Never ones to take themselves too seriously, the video for Moving On sees the band jamming out and having a bit of fun in a warehouse with frontman Matt Korvette’s playful charisma in full force. Pissed Jeans new album Half Divorced is out March 1 via Sub Pop.

serpentwithfeet - Safe Word

Alt-r&b-pop trailblazing experimentalist serpentwithfeet delivers a mellow, stripped back new single Safe Word that pairs latin strings with overblown kick drums and some whistling thrown in for good measure. An exploration of intimacy and trust, the video for Safe Word explores these themes visually, featuring late night club scenes and cityscapes, early morning sunrises and serpentwithfeet delivering some pillow singing. serpentwithfeet’s new album Grip is out February 16 via Secretly Canadian.

Tom Snowdon - Nora Creina

Aussie artist Tom Snowdon showcases his striking, distinctive vocals on intimate-yet-epic new single Nora Creina, a breathtaking piece of chamber pop-esque sounds that sees all manner of absorbing synths paired with minimalist percussion, giving way to emotive piano and strings. The single’s music video manages to capture the majestic nature of the composition, featuring Snowdown dancing in the gorgeous natural bush surrounds of his hometown of Mparntwe / Alice Springs. Tom Snowdon’s new album Lonely Tree is out February 9 via Pieater.

Ty Segall - My Best Friend

Easily the winner of cutest/most adorable music video of the week, the latest single from American garage-indie-noise-psych legend Ty Segall’s next album My Best Friend’s clip features just that - Ty hanging out with his adorable dachshund pals. Ty Segall’s new album Three Bells is out January 26 via Drag City.

Enjoy all these tunes as well as our favourite singles of the week and a stack of other new music we've been feeling in our Spotify playlist.

Album of the Week: Dawn Richard and Spencer Zahn - Pigments

The somewhat unlikely yet all together sense-making duo deliver album of contemplative and breathtaking ambient electronic pop + new records from Arctic Monkeys, Bibio, Dry Cleaning, Frankie Cosmos, Loyle Carner and more

2 years ago

The 10 Best Tunes of the Week | 2024 Week 22

Check out the 10 best tunes from the week that was including new sounds from Dirty Three, Hiatus Kaiyote, Human Movement, Magadlena Bay, Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds, Pond and more!

16 days ago

What's in Viagra Boys' Name?

“Metallica was already taken so we had to go with Viagra Boys…”

2 years ago

Vera Blue Blooms for Summer

Ahead of her Ice Cream Factory performance this Thursday, we jumped on the line with the pop sensation to chat about her new LP, life on tour, and her favourite flavour of ice cream.

2 years ago