Track x Track: Slayyyter - STARF*CKER

Track x Track: Slayyyter - STARF*CKER

Self-made queen of electro-pop takes us through her X-rated sophomore album, track by track

Image credit: AJ Incammicia

After a string of slick & sexy singles (and stunning accompanying visuals), Slayyyter’s second album STARFUCKER is finally here.

The follow-up to 2021’s Troubled Paradise, STARFUCKER sees Slayyyter delve even deeper into the world of pop stardom through the lens of an L.A. starlet persona. Across 12-tracks that range from hard hitting club electro to pure pop perfection (and a combination of both), Slayyyter touches on themes of fame, sex, femme fatales, and celebrity obsession in Hollywood.

On her sophomore record, Slayyyter shares “This album means the world to me. I have carefully crafted this era for 3 years now and I think it perfectly captures who I am and who I have evolved into as an artist. It's sexy, it's pop, it's provocative and feels like my love letter to Hollywood and glamour. I am so proud of it and hope people enjoy listening to it as much as I enjoyed making it.

To celebrate the release of her new album, Slayyyter was kind enough to take us through it, track by track - get to know and check out each song’s awesome video.

1. I Love Hollywood!

I thought this was the first album opener. It feels like the first scene in a movie, and nicely sums up the album's themes and concept in a nice retro club banger.

2. Miss Belladonna

This feels like my magnum opus pop song. We spent so much time carefully placing each harmony and background vocal and took time to really make it perfect.

3. Dramatic

I think this concept of infidelity from a femme fatale type is an interesting concept for a pop song. I watched Basic Instinct and Eyes Wide Shut a lot while making this record. It feels like an erotic thriller soundtrack song.

4. My Body

I love this one. A dance track that just soars when the chorus picks up. I was worried the lyrics wouldn't feel very deep or dynamic but I think a good dance song doesn't take itself too seriously. It's about not wanting to be left alone in the club.

5. Memories of You

There's something so trancey and 2010 about this song that I adore. We spent a lot of time rewriting bits and making the hook perfect. It feels like a perfect continuation of "My Body" that comes before it.

6. Rhinestone Heart

I think this is me at my most pop. I fell in love with this song and was nervous at first that it didn't feel like me but I think it adds one of the biggest highlights on the record. She deserves a radio moment!

7. Erotic Electronic

This is where the album turns into electro sex club music. This song came together really fast, we were referencing I Love Hollywood! to make this new one and wanted to have a hard driving beat like Gesaffelstein. Feels like a catwalk.

8. Purrr

This was the last song made for the album. An unapologetic party track, I feel like it's a super fun moment in my discography.

9. Plastic

This was made from a first meeting and session with the producer. I usually don't get so lucky the first time I meet someone to work so I was pleased that this came together. It's super funny and very fast paced. I love the city noises and fake cat calls in the intro.

10. Girl Like Me

This track feels like disco barbie heaven. I wanted a more heartwarming and tender pop moment on this album that felt like a nod to Anticipating by Britney or Love at First Sight by Kylie Minogue. I think the album goes from these hard gritty club tracks into this soft pink pop anthem and it's a nice contrast.

11. Tear Me Open

This was the very first song made for the album. I feel like it's not a lot of people's obvious favorite but I love it so much. This world kind of slows down here at track 11 to sum up feelings about a new relationship. It's a very honest song.

12. Out of Time

This feels like the grand finale in this little cinematic universe. I love this song. The beat felt so extremely Michael Jackson. I was feeling so many anxieties and insecurities about making things work for my music career at a point and time and this song came to be. I feel like everyone is running out of time in a sense. There is something dark and existential about this song. Then the imaginary movie credits roll right after.

Slayyy Artwork

Follow Slayyyter: Instagram / Facebook

Exclusive: Busy P talks Justice coming to Australia, and SebastiAn working on album #2

We caught up with the Ed Banger boss whilst at Coachella with Justice.

7 years ago

Austen pauses her current TKST tour support to release lush new single, Storm

We also interviewed the Brisbane-born, now Sydney-based singer/songwriter.

6 years ago

Premiere: Hier confirms one to watch status with bold new single, Turn Around

The Brisbane-based producer has been one of our favourites of late, with Turn Around only further confirming this.

7 years ago

Premiere: Kormak gets heavy on heaving remix of Go Freek's Put It Down

The Sydney-based DJ digs deep for the hefty remix, out through Sweat It Out.

6 years ago