Watch: Alex Lahey - Good Time

Watch: Alex Lahey - Good Time

Aussie singer-songwriter announces new album with catchy new summer anthem + fun comedy-club themed music video

Image Credit: Pooneh Ghana

Four years on from her acclaimed The Best of Luck Club album, indie rock singer-songwriter Alex Lahey has announced her third album in fine style, with the news of The Answer Is Always Yes dropping May 19 coming alongside addictive new single Good Time, rounded out with a clever, funny music video.

A guitar driven indie pop affair, Good Time features a chorus just begging to be sung along with as Lahey expands on her singular sound with more melodic moods, with the single co-written and produced alongside Jacknife Lee (U2, Taylor Swift).

This song was inspired by a night out I had at the pub with my friend soon after Melbourne came out of lengthy lockdowns,” says Lahey. “We were watching all these strangers around us have this ‘whatever it takes’ attitude towards making the most of the night (aka getting lit). It was a bit of a shock after being cooped up for so long, but also kind of invigorating.”

When it comes to her third album, The Answer Is Always Yes is Lahey’s most collaborative effort to date, working alongside a range of people including Lee. "I've made two records doing it all by myself and now I’ve proved to myself that I can do it,” Lahey says. “But it was also at a point where I was like, ‘If I do that again, I kind of know what it's gonna sound like’ and I don't think I'm interested in that right now.

Checkout Good Time and see below for more info on The Answer Is Always Yes!

Alex Lahey's new album The Anwer Is Always Yes is out May 19 via Liberation Records

unnamed 9

Alex Lahey - The Answer Is Always Yes

1. Good Time 

2. Congratulations 

3. Never Get Your Money Back 

4. The Sky Is Melting 

5. Way Down 

6. Makes Me Sick 

7. Shit Talkin’ 

8. Permanent 

9. They Wouldn’t Let Me In 

10. The Answer Is Always Yes

Follow Alex Lahey: Instagram / TikTok / Facebook

Track By Track: San Mei takes us through her rocking new EP, Heaven

The Gold Coast product caps off another great year with this fantastic four-tracker.

5 years ago

Down for Tomorrow and Waxflower interview each other, talk Kisschasy + new music

The two up-and-coming future-stars of Australia's heavier rock world chat to celebrate Down For Tomorrow's new single, Until You Feel Alright.

4 years ago

Watch: Montaigne - Clip My Wings

A Kingdom Hearts-inspired video from the Sydney songstress, plus her full list of tour dates.

9 years ago